So much for Jon Jones accepting his DQ to Matt Hamill over downward elbows with class. His camp plans to protest the decision that earned him his first loss, arguing instead that the fight should have been ruled a No Contest:
“Let’s be clear, Jon is not “unhappy” he feels as all things happen for a reason. We are protesting the L because we felt that Matt Hamill could not effectively communicate why he could not continue.”
“The rules state that an intentional foul and that the fighter cannot continue based on injury sustained from the foul. Hamill could not contnue due to a broken shoulder.”
“Jon should have been deducted a point for the accidental illegal blow. Matt should have been treated like we treat the Brazilians and given 5 minutes to regroup and offered a translator so the ref could make the right call and understand Matt could not continue due to his shoulder injury not the blow.”
“This should be a NC for both fighters but not a loss. Hammil continued with an injured Shoulder and only complained once the action was stopped (warrior) but the fight was stopped based on the shoulder injury in our opinion.”
The crux of this whole argument rests on your definition of an intentional foul. Kicking for the leg but hitting the nuts. That’s an unintentional foul. Pawing a jab but getting your finger in the other guy’s eyes. That’s an unintentional foul too. But what about throwing a downward elbow to the face when you don’t realize it’s an illegal move? Jones threw those strikes, and they landed exactly how he wanted them to. Does his ignorance of the downward elbow rule make the foul accidental somehow?
I’m with Jones here in spirit – if ya ask me, ‘No Contest’ certainly fits the results a lot better than Matt Hamill getting a win he did nothing but take a beating to earn. But there’s no way in hell this result is gonna be overturned. The rules lay everything out pretty clearly, and Jones fucked up.