twitter google

Georges St-Pierre sat down with for an exclusive interview to talk about his middleweight title fight with Michael Bisping later this year.

Plus, “Rush” explains why he left, why he’s back and discusses the rest of the 185-pound division.

ufc 209

It was not met with thunderous applause like the first meeting, but Tyron Woodley found a way to leave UFC 209 with the welterweight title still around his waist.

Woodley recovered from a sluggish start to earn a majority decision over Stephen Thompson Saturday night in the main event.

Last year at UFC 205, the duo fought to a majority draw. The fight could have gone that same direction this time around, but two judges scored it 48-47 in favor of Woodley.

After the loss of an interim lightweight title fight between Tony Ferguson and Khabib Nurmagomedov, officials placed David Teymur and Lando Vannata into that spot.

Teymur stepped up to the challenge, earning a clean sweep of the scorecards to take a decision.

In a middleweight affair, Dan Kelly spoiled the return of Rashad Evans, claiming a split decision. The win was the fourth straight for the former judo Olympian. Evans, an ex-UFC light heavyweight champion, was making his debut at 185 pounds.

Cynthia Calvillo submitted Amanda Cooper and Alistair Overeem earned a third round finish vs. Mark Hunt after connecting with a nasty knee.

Marcin Tybura defeated Luis Henrique, Darren Elkins upset Mirsad Bektic, Iuri Alcantara submitted Luke Sanders and Mark Godbeer defeated Daniel Spitz on the FOX Sports 1 prelims. Tyson Pedro finished Paul Craig and Albert Morales defeated Andre Soukhamthath on UFC Fight Pass.

Complete results are below:

Tyron Woodley def. Stephen Thompson via majority decision (48-47, 47-47, 48-47) to remain UFC welterweight champion

David Teymur def. Lando Vannata via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Dan Kelly def. Rashad Evans via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Cynthia Calvillo def. Amanda Cooper via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:19 of Round 1

Alistair Overeem def. Mark Hunt via KO (knee) at 1:44 of Round 3

Marcin Tybura def. Luis Henrique via TKO (strikes) at 3:46 of Round 3

Darren Elkins def. Mirsad Bektic via KO (strike) at 3:19 of Round 3

Iuri Alcantara def. Luke Sanders via submission (knee-bar) at 3:13 of Round 2

Mark Godbeer def. Daniel Spitz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Tyson Pedro def. Paul Craig via TKO (strikes) at 4:10 of Round 1

Albert Morales def. Andre Soukhamthath via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

marloes coenen

History was made Friday night at Bellator 174 from the WinStar World Casino in Thackerville, Oklahoma.

In the main event, Julia Budd finished Marloes Coenen to become the first-ever female featherweight champion. The bout also marked the first time that Bellator had female fighters headline a card, with this one airing live on Spike.

Budd (10-2) has not lost since a 2011 defeat at the hands of Ronda Rousey, winning each of her last eight. Coenen (23-7) suffered her first loss since a 2013 setback to Cris “Cyborg” Justino.

After three-plus grueling rounds of action, it was Budd putting together her strikes in the fourth to secure the win.

The card was hit hard by the injury bug, losing two key bouts Thursday.

Fernando Gonzalez and Brandon Girtz moved into the co-main event role, with Gonzalez sweeping the scorecards for the decision win.

Justin Wren and Rafael Lovato Jr. opened the Spike main card with first round finishes. Wren submitted Roman Pizzolato with an arm-triangle choke, while Lovato stopped Charles Hackmann in just 13 seconds.

Emmanuel Rivera, Cody Pfister, Emily Ducote, Gabrielle Holloway and Justin Patterson all recorded wins on the prelims.

Pfister, who fought four times for the UFC before signing with Bellator, announced plans to retire. He is just 26 years old.

Holloway knocked out Alexis Dufresne and could be the first challenger to the female featherweight title.

Complete results are below:

Julia Budd def. Marloes Coenen via TKO (strikes) at 2:42 of Round 4 to become Bellator female featherweight champion

Fernando Gonzalez def. Brandon Girtz via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 30-26)

Justin Wren def. Roman Pizzolato via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 2:35 of Round 1

Rafael Lovato Jr. def. Charles Hackmann via TKO (strikes) at :13 of Round 1

Emmanuel Rivera def. Treston Thomison via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Cody Pfister def. Jonathan Gray via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:04 of Round 1

Emily Ducote def. Katy Collins via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:53 of Round 1

Gabrielle Holloway def. Alexis Dufresne via TKO (strikes) at 2:53 of Round 2

Justin Patterson def. Jason Witt via TKO (strikes) at :13 of Round 3

Former UFC welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre will return to the Octagon this year in the new weight class, challenging Michael Bisping for the middleweight title.

UFC president Dana White made the fight announcement Wednesday while appearing on “SportsCenter.” He added that no exact date for the bout has been confirmed.

The two are scheduled to be in Las Vegas this Friday for a press conference to discuss the fight.

St-Pierre left MMA back in 2013 after a win over Johny Hendricks, which was his 12th consecutive. Bisping claimed the belt last year when he defeated Luke Rockhold, scoring a successful title defense vs. Dan Henderson.

The UFC makes its 2017 debut in Las Vegas and the T-Mobile Arena this Saturday night with UFC 209.

In the headline act, Stephen Thompson gets a second crack at welterweight champion Tyron Woodley. Also, Khabib Nurmagomedov and Tony Ferguson collide for the interim lightweight title.

All the action is set to begin at 6:30 p.m. on UFC Fight Pass before shifting over to FOX Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET. The pay-per-view main card begins at 10 p.m. ET with Alistair Overeem vs. Mark Hunt.

Below is the fight card:

MAIN CARD (PPV/10 p.m. ET)

UFC Welterweight Championship
Tyron Woodley (c) vs. Stephen Thompson

Interim UFC Lightweight Championship
Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Tony Ferguson

Middleweight: Rashad Evans vs. Daniel Kelly

Lightweight: Lando Vannata vs. David Teymur

Heavyweight: Alistair Overeem vs. Mark Hunt


Heavyweight: Marcin Tybura vs. Luis Henrique

Featherweight: Darren Elkins vs. Mirsad Bektic

Bantamweight: Iuri Alcantara vs. Luke Sanders

Heavyweight: Daniel Spitz vs. Mark Godbeer

PRELIMINARY CARD (UFC Fight Pass/6:30 p.m. ET)

Light Heavyweight: Paul Craig vs. Tyson Pedro

Female Strawweight: Amanda Cooper vs. Cynthia Calvillo

Bantamweight: Albert Morales vs. Andre Soukhamthath

Page 15 of 3,0971...10...1314151617...203040...3,097