twitter google
ufc rankings

Fresh off a victory over Hector Lombard, Neil Magny climbed two spots in the latest UFC rankings report.

Magny is now ranked seventh in the 170-pound division, jumping ahead of Matt Brown and Dong Hyun Kim. Lombard fell to 14th with the loss, as Albert Tumenov moved to 13th.

In the bantamweight Top-15, Renan Barao dropped two spots on the heels of his decision to move to featherweight, allowing Urijah Faber, Raphael Assuncao and Aljamain Sterling to pass him. Sterling and Barao are tied for fourth.

Both Robert Whittaker and Gegard Mousasi moved ahead of Tim Kennedy at middleweight, while Mark Hunt switched spots with Josh Barnett. Ruslan Magomedov, Alexey Oliynyk and Jared Rosholt all climbed at heavyweight.

Dominick Cruz pushed his way up to fifth in the overall pound-for-pound TOp-15.

ufc 197

The next pay-per-view offering by the UFC is shaping up to be a classic, as UFC 197 features the rematch between Jon Jones and Daniel Cormier.

This time, though, it is Cormier wearing the light heavyweight title to the Octagon as the reigning champion.

Along with that bout, Henry Cejudo challenges Demetrious Johnson for the flyweight title.

Check out a couple of promo videos below for the card, which goes down April 23 from Las Vegas:

ufc fight night 85

Mark Hunt and Neil Magny scored impressive victories Saturday night in the headline bouts of UFC Fight Night 85 from Brisbane, Australia.

In the main event, Hunt knocked out former UFC heavyweight champion Frank Mir in just over three minutes, while Magny took out ex-Bellator titleholder Hector Lombard in the third with strikes.

The finishes were two of seven bouts that ended earlier, as Jake Matthews, Dan Kelly, Steve Bosse, Alan Jouban and Dan Hooker all picked up stoppage wins, as well. In fact, the finishes came in seven of the last eight fights scheduled.

Bec Rawlings opened the main card with a decision vs. Seo Hee Ham, with Leslie Smith, Viscardi Andrade, Ross Pearson and Alan Patrick all doing the same vs. their respective opponents.

Matthews and Johnny Case, who fought to the third round before being submitted, were named “Fight of the Night,” with Hunt and Magny picking up “Performance of the Night” honors. The attendance inside the Brisbane Entertainment Centre was announced at 9,552 for a live gate of $1 million U.S.

Complete results can be found below:

Mark Hunt def. Frank Mir via KO (strike) at 3:01 of Round 1

Neil Magny def. Hector Lombard via TKO (sstrikes) at :46 of Round 3

Jake Matthews def. Johnny Case via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:45 of Round 3

Dan Kelly def. Antonio Carlos Junior via TKO (strikes) at 1:36 of Round 3

Steve Bosse def. James Te-Huna via KO (strike) at :52 of Round 1

Bec Rawlings def. Seo Hee Ham via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Alan Jouban def. Brendan O’Reilly via TKO (strikes) at 2:15 of Round 1

Dan Hooker def. Mark Eddiva via submission (guillotine choke) at 1:24 of Round 1

Leslie Smith def. Rin Nakai via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Viscardi Andrade def. Richard Walsh via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Ross Pearson def. Chad Laprise via split decision (28-30, 30-27, 29-28)

Alan Patrick def. Damien Brown via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

paige vanzant

This Monday night, Paige VanZant will make her debut on the 22nd season of “Dancing with the Stars” on ABC.

And she’ll do it as the odds-on favorite, according to Las Vegas. recently reported that the UFC strawweight fighter has moved from the middle of the pack at 10-to-1 to a 2-to-1 favorite to bring home the crystal ball.

VanZant is just ahead of NFL players Antonio Brown and Von Miller, along with singer Wanya Morris.

roy jones

Chael Sonnen remains one of the more out-spoken personalities in all of MMA.

And despite being on suspension, that hasn’t changed one bit.

Sonnen, who is set to return to action in a grappling match at UR Fight vs. Michael Bisping, recently appeared on Submission Radio to talk about his return, Holly Holm, Conor McGregor and of course, “The Count.”

Check out the complete transcript of the interview below:

On Holm taking a fight with Tate rather than waiting for the Rousey rematch:

“She had a major opportunity to fight Ronda Rousey in an immediate rematch. And the way her contract works and the way the UFC analytics projections work, they would have paid her about 10 million dollars. On the other side of it is, who knows if Ronda is ever going to come back? You know, why should Holly wait till November? She’s got this new contact, she’s the new champion, she’s not a rich gal. This contract has the ability to make her rich, but she’s got to go out and activate it, which means she had to fight somebody.

“If I was in Holly’s shoes I would have done the same thing. I would have gone out and competed, expected to win, expected to just meet Ronda later. So you know, critiquing her isn’t totally fair when I would have done the same thing, but it is the reality. She’s got a manager that does not know what he’s doing. He’s not an MMA guy, he came from the boxing world. And he can be a perfectly nice guy, that’s not to be an insult to him, but he doesn’t know what he’s doing, and he got her a bad deal. And that’s just the reality. Even her fight that she just had with Miesha Tate, he got her a bad deal. And he thought that he did a great job. He doesn’t know this business.”

What Chael thinks the UFC should do with Holm now:

“What the UFC will do is they would make Tate versus Rousey 3. But what I would do, is I would just leave the title out of it completely and I would do an immediate rematch with Ronda versus Holly Holm. The way the minds work at Zuffa is, ‘look we got UFC 200, we gotta put the belt on the line, we gotta put our top stars against whoever the champ is’. I disagree. I think sometimes you just gotta make a fight. You know, Anderson versus Bisping. There was no title on the line, but that was a fight. Conor versus Diaz – which currently holds every UFC record there is, at least on pay-per-view. Not live gate, but pay-per-view – there was no title on the line.

“It was just the fight that people wanted to see. Because I think sometimes you just gotta make the fight. But I know the way that they think over there and they think, ‘well, we lost that fight because Miesha’s now champ. Now it’s Miesha versus Ronda,’ so that’s at least what will be offered. I would just hope that somebody in the room at least makes the suggestion of “why do we have to do it for the title? Why can’t we just do the fight everyone wants to see?”

How much Conor’s loss at UFC 196 will affect his drawing power:

“No, it definitely won’t. Not in the short-term. You know, he’s still the world champion and he still goes back down. He can patch up with the boat with two or three microphones in his hand. Unlike most other fighters, he’s got a different skillset. So no, he’s going to do real well, and frankly that invincibility factor traditionally has worked against guys. You know, there’s only been one heavyweight of all time that could fight and draw being invincible, and that was Mike Tyson. Even Jon Jones, as great as he is, until recently wasn’t able to draw very well.

“Anderson never drew until I came around – and I don’t mean to insert myself into this, but again, that’s just a number. So no, being invincible isn’t a tremendous drawing point, good competition is, somebody that’s exciting. So he’s going to do fine, but to say that he’s not going to take a dip, yeah I think he’ll take a little bit of a dip. But even with a dip he’ll still be the biggest star the company’s got right now.”

Page 28 of 3,0801...1020...2627282930...405060...3,080